

Summit County, Utah Republican Party

All the Pols came out that night!

Last Tuesday's **County GOP Convention** was an amazing opportunity to chat with nearly all of the GOP candidates from county, state, & federal races, as well as state school board (see attached for the full list). We had a room filled with candidates & delegates followed by three-minute speeches by each candidate on stage. It was an impressive confirmation of Utah's caucus system.

The following candidates won their respective elections by acclamation:

- Republican County Council candidates Holly McClure (Seat D) & John "Jack" Murphy (Seat E)
 Both Holly & Jack are in this race at least in part because of the overreach & cronyism related to the Dakota Pacific project. They need & deserve our support.
- Three Summit County GOP leadership seats were filled:
 - Karen Ballash, County Chair
 - Lisa Wall, Vice-Chair
 - Jimmy May, Park City Regional Chair

In addition, several state officials joined us & shared their thoughts on stage:

Lt. Governor **Deidre Henderson**, Treasurer **Marlo Oaks**, and Solicitor General **Melissa Holyoak**.

Check out the local coverage and photos:

KPCW: Election season brings high-ranking Republicans to Summit County

The Park Record: Summit County Republican Convention brings big names and criticisms of Democrats

Saturday's state convention was not without its surprises

U.S. Senate

Senator **Mike Lee** took the nomination with 70.74% of the vote, far exceeding the 60% threshold normally needed to avoid a primary challenge. Yet since both satisfied the signature gathering option provided by SB54, **Becky Edwards** (11.77%) and **Ally Isom** (9.6%) will also be listed in the June 28th primary.

U.S. Congress

In another surprise, in UT-1 with 965 credentialed delegates, **Andrew Badger** won with 49.18% of the vote defeating incumbent **Blake Moore** (35.44%). Both Blake & **Tina Cannon** (8.83%) gathered sufficient signatures to appear on the primary ballot.

Andrew Badger gambled and won. He did not seek signatures, so without the support of the caucus system, his race would have been over had he not come in first.

In a third surprise, in UT-3 **Chris Herrod** (54.7%) pulled out an upset of incumbent **John Curtis** (45.29%). But since Herrod did not earn the 60% needed to win the nomination outright, both candidates will be in the primary. Many in Summit County were sad to see Candidate **Jason Preston** eliminated in the first round of balloting.

State School Board

Yet another(!) surprise was the huge interest in the State School Board races. **Melanie Monestere** from Summit County won the nomination with 69.8% of the vote over 20+ year incumbent **Janet Cannon** (30.18%). **Jennie Earl** won her race by acclimation.

Utah Statehouse

Congresswoman **Kera Birkeland** won the nomination with 75% of the vote. **Raelene Blocker** (7.35%) gathered signatures & will challenge Kera in the primary.

Incumbent State Senator Ron Winterton (72.56%) beat Vaughn Hokanson (27.44%).

Lica Wall

What's Next?

Varan Ballach

The Utah GOP has a neutrality clause which precludes Summit County GOP leadership from publicly taking sides in primary races. We can advise & will you on the facts in a forthcoming message.

You may have noticed a theme here in candidates losing at the nominating convention yet gathering sufficient signatures to appear on the ballot. We'll talk more about this.

Many of us are new to the Caucus system—& we've quickly become fond of it. Our County Chair, Karen Ballash, will speak to this.

We'll also share insights into a theme from state officials, the pernicious new **ESG**—so-called **Environmental Social Governance**.

And we'll keep you apprised of all relevant goings on including a forthcoming very special event, so stay tuned! Let us know if you have any questions. And follow us on Facebook www.facebook.com/SummitCountyRepublicans

Pohort Larcon

Summit County Chair chair@summitcountyutgop.org	Summit County Vice-Chair vice-chair@summitcountyutgop.org	State Central Committee scc-chair@summitcountyutgop.org
Jerry Heck South Summit Chair southsummit- chair@summitcountyutgop.org	Len Starbeck Snyderville Basin Chair snyderville- chair@summitcountyutgop.org	Jimmy May Park City Chair parkcity- chair@summitcountyutgop.org
Dawn Langston North Summit Chair northsummit- chair@summitcountyutgop.org	Karen Spencer Treasurer treasurer@summitcountyutgop.org	Stephanie Conley Secretary secretary@summitcountyutgop .org